>Saturday Night Cravings…

>

I made some Meringue cookies earlier with some leftover egg whites from the other day.. I gave one to Rob and he says, “I think I want another one.” Does that mean I get the seal of approval?

They were actually fairly easy, and I was surprised! They always looked so complicated in pictures, and I’ve only had them once before. I’ve never made them in any case.

I think the trick is to get the meringue right, and if you don’t know the different factors involved in making the stiff peaks required, it would be difficult. I knew about using room-temperature egg whites, and I knew to mix on medium-low on a mixer, and that you have to add the sugar a little at a time so that it will all dissolve instead of becoming one stick mass of goo. But one thing that I didn’t know is that acid helps the foam develop as high as it can go, and that means adding a little lemon juice or cream of tartar or baking soda! Who would’ve thunk it? And yes, I realize that lots of people knew that ha ha!

I asked Rob if he wanted anything on them, and I was thinking some blitzed almonds or something, but nope! He wanted sprinkles! That’s my wittle Robbie:)

(And he’s going to swat me for that I bet!)

Sent from my Crackberry

About charliebenn

I like writing about what my world is, whether that be gardening, cooking, drawing, my relationships, job, and yes, sometimes I ramble about how much I love writing. And also hate it. :)

Posted on January 22, 2011, in Blackberry, Cooking, Food, Photo, Rob. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

