>Hates the whole "higher learning" process

>

I got excepted to NBCC for January 2011, but they didn’t send confirmation of that until 3 weeks to start date. I applied for my student loan, but had to call to make sure I did it right because there was no 2011 form available. Even talk to someone to make sure it’s what they want. Got a letter from student loan saying that I wouldn’t be getting a loan because I applied for the wrong year, NBCC didn’t start until September 2011. They hadn’t read the part where I included that I had spoken with an advisor on the phone and he told me to apply and put that there was no form available. Then NBCC sent a fax to them saying that I had been excepted with an exception to start in January. Then, student loan told me that they wouldn’t read the fax until today (it was last Friday when it was sent). I called today and she said that they can resume processing…and I will get the loan in about 4-6 weeks. That does a lot for my classes, food, bills, and (more importantly) rent. Rob also had issues with his loan, and most likely won’t get his anytime soon either. I’m most likely going to be homeless soon, and its incredibly scary. I’ve been applying for jobs since October, but have gotten only 1 call back, which didn’t work out. I’m not being that snobby in the applications either; I have applied to fast food restaurants and even WalMart. I’ve honestly got no idea what to do now, and I really feel like there is no way to turn. It’s just unbelievable. I applied to NBCC with loads of time to spare, but was only accepted right down to the wire, well after the recommended time frame to apply for a loan. The whole process is counter-productive, and I can’t see how it’s suppose to A) entice people to return to school, and B)help people like me who don’t have very much education or experience to make a living working as they had continue their education so that they can have at least some sort of standard of living. Everyone tells me that it gets better….and I guess I’m still waiting.

Sent from my Crackberry

About charliebenn

I like writing about what my world is, whether that be gardening, cooking, drawing, my relationships, job, and yes, sometimes I ramble about how much I love writing. And also hate it. :)

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Blackberry, School. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

