>The Oasis Has Benn Re-dubbed The Rainforest

>So, in lieu of having an entire garden of plants crashing and bashing and more importantly- as Rob pointed out in regards to the bumper crop of tomato plants- snapping, I spent the afternoon transforming our seemingly unaware apartment to a rainforest. I’ve taken down all of the plants save the morning glories and petunias and made new homes for them inside for shelter during the supposed hurricane we will be getting within the next 12 hours or so they say.

Unfortunately, when you grow a patio oasis of around 50 plants, it tends to not translate as well to an indoor situation. And thank god I’ve a patient roomie, otherwise things might have gotten ugly.

The tv/wii area has the brunt of the Rainforest-likeness, as there are 3 foot high sunberry plants up on the cabinet. They’re corralled as best as can be, but without some pruning, will most likely reach the ceiling within the month.

The office area also has some plants, but I call this area the “tactile forest,” as most of the things located here are very touch friendly. I’ve got the biggest mimosas (sensitive plant) because Rob likes to touch the leaves and watch them droop. There’s a planter of mint growing here as well, which smells very nice when you brush it with your hand.

Over on the table near the kitchen is what is pretty much called the farm area, as everything there is edible. That’s where the herbs landed, as well as the nicest looking strawberry plant and a geranium. A pot of swiss chard will be put there as well on Rob’s request when I can get it replanted.

Up higher again I’ve placed some indoor tomatoes on top of the bookcases, which like the sunberries will be ceiling bound soon.

There’s the overflow of plants in the bedroom for now, I’m still missing a dresser which will help the plants on the floor.

And just to be super cautious, we can no longer shower for the storm, as our bathtub has new residents.

With so many levels, our apartment definately is now named the rainforest for sure!!

About charliebenn

I like writing about what my world is, whether that be gardening, cooking, drawing, my relationships, job, and yes, sometimes I ramble about how much I love writing. And also hate it. :)

Posted on September 3, 2010, in Apartment, Gardening, Photo. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. HAHA! I love it! What are sunberries??

    • Funny you should ask! I just harvested my first ones this year earlier. They’re on my list of topics for this week on 365! They grow on a bush, and taste and look like a cross between blueberries and huckleberries. They’re a little plain/bitter, but I’m going to make jam out of them. They’re a type of Nightshade, so if not harvested right the can be poisonous LOL

  2. oh! What are huckleberries? Other then the character from Strawberry shortcake I never really heard much about them

Leave a Reply

