>Adventures in Crackberryland

>(It’s like candyland, but with less candy…and land…and it’s also more confusing. And shiny.)

I’ve had a cell phone for a couple years now, and like most people in their 20s, I am slightly attached to it. In fact, it may regulate my central nervous system. I’m not entirely sure; I’ll have to get back to you on that. I’ll cc you. In any case, when I met the boy, I upgraded to a Blackberry so he could help me transition to the Smartphone market from my little LG Shine easier, as he has one too. After a week of research, I settled on what my Blackberry Tour.

Thus began the adventures in Crackberryland. Don’t get me wrong, I love my phone. I didn’t always, as there was quite a learning curve for me. It didn’t do what I wanted right away. I don’t do well with change, but I’m also apparently stubborn so I wasn’t giving in no matter what. To this day it still kicks my ass! Then I find a new app, and I’m all better 🙂

And I love my apps. I guess not a lot of crackberry users use them. Maybe it’s more of an Iphone thing? Hey, I wanted an Iphone. I REAAAALLY wanted one. I have a lot of them around me to play with, and the touch screen and the app store were big driving points. But I wanted a phone that could organize me better, and that definitely is my little Tour. And since I’ve got it synced to my email account, my calendar, Facebook, Twitter, Windows Live…I’ve even figured out how to update my blog from it! Ok, so that may not be big for all you techy-brain users…but for techno-illiterate little ol’ me, well, let’s just say I’ve impressed myself.

So I may have gotten lost on a road trip while using the Google Maps app. Like a couple hours lost. I took a picture of the “right” that we were supposed to take to get to Champlain Place Mall. It was a left. But it’s awesome when you move to a new apartment and you need to give your new-to-the-city boyfriend directions to his new work.

One of the only problems I ran into with my new phone was texting. Love love LOVE to text, but for some reason my blackberry was mixing up names when I’d get a new text sometimes. Went to the Telus store, and WOW was that helpful and by helpful I mean read it in a very sarcastic and loud voice, possibly with a snooty French accent. (On my own…) I found an app called Crunch SMS and apart from displaying my text messages like an Iphone with the little super-happy bubbles, it fixed my problem with flying colours. No longer do my texts from my mom come in from my friends, or vice-versa…which makes drunk texting rather more entertaining than normal.

The game Pixelated whiled away many a boring shift at work, and many awkward, unfun family get togethers.

I know that right now it’s 24 degrees and overcast because of the Weather Network app, which, ok, I could open the drapes, but I’m too sore to do so. And there are quite a few movies that I was in when I checked the weather during the credits to know that it was A. Raining. B. Snowing. And C. Laughing at all of us ants running around like crazys. And while we’re on the topic of the movies, I’ve got 2 movie review apps to help add to the frustration of getting there in the first place.

Banking, check.

Basically, I’m trying to say that I really do like my blackberry, and am constantly looking for cool ways to use it. So anytime you read a new review for an app, or hear something neat that is a tad off-the-wall and a little cheesy, message me on Blackberry Messenger or Windows Live. Or tweet me. Or write on my wall. Or text me. I’ll get them on my phone. I’m not entirely sure if I can get calls on it though, I’ll have to ask the boy. He’d know. When I know what he knows, I’ll send you an email. Coolio?

About charliebenn

I like writing about what my world is, whether that be gardening, cooking, drawing, my relationships, job, and yes, sometimes I ramble about how much I love writing. And also hate it. :)

Posted on July 13, 2010, in Blackberry, Social Networking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

