>One man’s trash…

>

I’m a definite believer in that previous statement. Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle… right? I guess I was raised like that. I love discount shopping, I use the dollar store a lot, and I give lots of hand-me-downs to all the mom’s in my life to pass along to their style-conscious offspring. So of course, one of my favourite new activities in my new apartment building is going on a perilous expedition to the garbage room!
About twice a week Rob will ask if I will take the soap down for him when he’s doing the laundry (that’s the “helping job” he gave me when we moved in lol). Practically flopping around like a dog in a back seat (or a wind tunnel…funny visual) I leave him in the dust and am in the elevator before he locks the door behind us. I love our garbage room, and I love our neighbours! There’s always something fun down there!
The first week we moved in we had a shopping list of things and furniture we needed. Stuff like a floor lamp. And what did I find in the garbage room but a gorgeous floor lamp! Brought it up and cleaned it up…worked perfectly!
The next day I found pots obviously from one of my crazy old ladies (love them! Totally beating them too in the plant wars!), which coincided perfectly when mom brought over some marigold seeds for me to grow 🙂
The other night Rob found a little floor fan in there too with a note that said “take me!” And the other day there was a box full of cooking utensils and one of my old ladies already plucking out the best finds for herself.
Dumpster Diving is fun!
p.s……ok, so the light bulb we put in the floor lamp fell out the other day. Little afraid to use it again, so back to the garbage room it went.  BUT I STILL LOVE REFINDING THINGS!!
About charliebenn

I like writing about what my world is, whether that be gardening, cooking, drawing, my relationships, job, and yes, sometimes I ramble about how much I love writing. And also hate it. :)

Posted on July 9, 2010, in Apartment, Salvaged. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

